Wk 7- Artist Conversation- Juliana Bustillo & Tidawhitney Lek

Artist: Juliana Bustillo & Tidawhitney Lek

Exhibition: Doodles in Space

Media: Paper, toilet seat covers, and wires

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Werby Gallery

Instagram: @juliaanaa22b @tidawhitney

About the Artist

Juliana Bustillo and Tidawhitney are both students at CSULB. They are both undergraduates students who are trying to get their Bachelors in Fine Arts; specifically in painting and drawing. It is their last semester for both of them.  Both Juliana and Tidawhitney plan to move to the east coast to go to graduate school once they graduate from Long Beach.

Formal Analysis 

From the moment I entered the room I was impressed with their gallery. The first thing that caught my attention was the amount of toilet seat covers that were used. There was a wall that was entirely covered in toilet seat covers which was something I had never seen before. They used the colors black and white because they felt that black represented the expansion of space and white the closeness of space. In the center of the room they had a big piece of tissue paper that resembled a big ball that hung right in the middle of the gallery. On another side of the room there was lots and lots of tissue paper crumpled on the ground. It took them about 3 days to install of their art work.

Content Analysis

The exhibition is called ‘Doodles in Space’ because that is exactly what their gallery was. Their inspiration for their art work came from their own doodles they would draw on a 5 x 6 index card. Doodling is something that is done so effortlessly yet requires much creativity and ideas to be put together. They chose to use their doodles and work with the idea of space through the colors black and white. Black because it resembles the expansion of space and white the closeness of space. They wanted to make their art as simple as possible which is why they stuck with the colors black and white.

Synthesis/My Experience

Walking into the gallery I didn’t know what to expect because it was so dark in there, however, as soon as I walked in I was extremely fascinated. This is one of the most unique art galleries I have seen so far. The idea of doodles in space was interesting to me because often times I find myself doodling on my journals and don’t realize the effort and time I have put into the doodle until I have finished. The set up of their art was amazing! Loved it!

Leave a Reply

