Wk3- Classmate conversation-Maryam Takla

Maryam Takla and I met for the first time this past week while waiting for class to start. Maryam approached me as I was standing alone to introduce herself and ask if I wanted to look at the Art Gallery with her. From the very beginning Maryam seemed outgoing and down to earth. As we began to scoop out the Art Gallery we began to learn a little more about each other. Maryam is sophmore here at CSULB and is majoring in civil engineering. How awesome right! I was very surprised that she was majoring in civil engineering as I was not expecting that at all. However, I expressed to her how awesome it was! Considering the fact that the number of girls majoring in engineering let alone civil engineering is quite low in comparison to boys. I learned that through civil engineering she wants to focus on building architecture. I asked her what sparked her interest in building architecture and she expressed that she has always been fascinated by buildings and how they are structured and would love to be part of that process. Maryam also expressed her passion for training jiujitsu. Unfortunately, this past week as she was training jiujitsu she was kicked on the forehead by another team player and has a scar across her face. I applaud her because that accident must have hurt and also because she expressed that although it hurt she still enjoys and loves to train. Not only does Maryam train but she also enjoys working out, just like myself. I enjoyed meeting Maryam and look forward to keeping in touch through out class! šŸ™‚

fullsizerender

Leave a Reply

